A Bridge to the Birds of Paradise

Sian Ka’an Biosphere Reserve was the single most heavenly tropical place I’ve ever been.  Even without the amazing birding experience, I would go back in a second.

Sian Ka’an is close to Tulum, Mexico on the Yucatan Peninsula – a dazzling coastal ecosystem.  My husband and I rambled along in our rented Jeep with no A/C on a long white gravel road that winds along the coast of the Caribbean Sea.  It was a drop dead gorgeous sunny hot day.  The shining white beaches were radiant even with the washed-up garbage strewn about.  I hopped over photo op after photo op, looking for pieces of beach glass (something I could do for days, weeks, months!).

If it had been our choice, my husband and I would have driven that road till the end. But as we all know, daylight is limited and vacation time goes especially fast.

Possibly the best part of Sian Ka’an was the old weathered bridge that stood alongside the newer bridge that we traveled on.  They cross a beautiful blue-green river that flows into the ocean.  You can see a video of them here.

Locals fished off the bridges, breezes relieved the heat, and I found bird after bird to photograph.   To the left are female and male Great-Tailed Grackles.  The gull, tern, and turnstone were firsts for me (below).

I’ll fondly remember this old weathered bridge for all my days, along with the fine feathered friends I met that day.

7 responses

  1. The place looks wonderful.

    August 14, 2012 at 12:31 pm

  2. What a beautiful place that must be. I’ve heard that there is a lot of garbage washed ashore in some of these otherwise tropical idyllic settings. I could search for sea glass and shells on the beach indefinitely too, especially in that wonderful warm white sand.

    August 23, 2012 at 8:10 am

  3. Wonderful, and for me, exotic bird-photos. Really like it 🙂

    August 23, 2012 at 8:37 am

  4. Awesome! Thanks for sharing! And thanks for stopping by and enjoying my Breathing Space photos too!

    November 4, 2012 at 3:38 am

  5. I must thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this blog.
    I am hoping to view the same high-grade content from you
    in the future as well. In fact, your creative
    writing abilities has inspired me to get my own blog now 😉

    May 10, 2013 at 12:19 am

Leave a Reply

