Honeymoon Bluebird

Exactly 4 years ago today I took this photo of a Mountain Bluebird in Yellowstone Park.  It was 2 days after my wedding – my husband and I were on our honeymoon.  (On the right is one of the amazing wedding photos Loneman Photography created.)

Supposedly Mountain Bluebirds do visit interior Alaska in the summer but I’ve never seen one here.

I’m happy to say that the population of Mountain Bluebirds, like Eastern Bluebirds, has been aided in conservation efforts by humans.  By putting up nest boxes, humans have helped bluebirds increase in number since a decline in the mid-1900s.   Finally, a success story!

3 responses

  1. Very nice wild life photography!!! Cheers Nonoy Manga

    June 1, 2012 at 8:52 am

  2. Chancy and Mumsy

    Oh, my goodness!!! That is a terrific photo of a gorgeous bird.

    July 4, 2012 at 3:12 am

Leave a Reply

